Hidden in Television: A Marginalized Portrayal of Deafness on Switched at Birth

better YIN YANG

As I was scrolling through my twitter feed the other day, one tweet quickly caught my attention. Deaf actress Marlee Matlin tweeted: “Many other deaf actors and myself may not ‘speak’ as you do but we say PLENTY- with our hands. Don’t ever assume we are silent or mute.” So many thoughts and feelings of frustration and annoyance completely overtook my mind that I couldn’t even write a comprehensible reply to her.

But those negative feelings were not in agreement with her tweet.

For those unaware, Marlee Matlin stars in the ABC show Switched at Birth, which centers around two teenage girls (one of whom is deaf), whose lives have become meshed together after discovering they were switched at birth. Many characters on that show are deaf, including Daphne Vasquez (Katie Leclerc), Melody (Marlee Matlin), and Emmett (Sean Berdy).

The show depicts a ridiculously mind-boggling one-sided view of the deaf world. Each character either signs, chooses not to speak, or does both. Personally, this show frustrates me because it’s such a popular show, but underrepresents many deaf individuals, especially those with cochlear implants. To many, this show serves as an “image” or representation of the deaf community, when clearly it should not be.

Because of the generic portrayals of deaf people signing/not speaking, many people have developed assumptions as to what I can and cannot do. For instance, many people have asked if I sign. While I kindly respond “no”, my gut wants to scoff “obviously not”. The truth is, I never grew up signing, I never went to a deaf school, and I have never shied away from the mainstream/hearing world. Nonetheless, I do realize that many hearing individuals’ exposure to the deaf community is limited to what they see on television, an under-representative medium for deaf people. Thus, I cannot blame others for asking what seems like a harmless and an innocent question.

But SAB’s popularity continues to relay that message that every deaf person signs.

One of my best friends, Miranda, who has cochlear implants and attends a mainstream high school, bluntly told me “I don’t watch that show because it doesn’t show anyone with Cochlear Implants”. How can I blame her? She’s right. No deaf character on the show represents her life as a deaf individual: having cochlear implants, attending mainstream school, conversing orally with her hearing and deaf friends, and even talking over the phone! The show’s portrayal of deaf high-schoolers completely contradicts her lifestyle. How can she, I, and other CI users support something that’s so misrepresentative of our lives? Yet, SAB creates awareness to SAB viewers that, we, as cochlear implant users, automatically know ASL, associate only with deaf people, and attend deaf schools.

Switched at Birth contributes to the apprehensiveness hearing individuals exhibit towards deaf people due to the very one-sided portrayal of the deaf community—deaf and signing. I’ve had multiple people confess that when first meeting me, they initially didn’t know how to act or communicate with me because they either thought I couldn’t talk or only “spoke” through sign language. But the reality is, I am deaf, but can hear and speak with the aid of two cochlear implants. My life is completely the opposite of what filmmakers continue to portray as “deaf”. I’ve yet to see one show/film where there is a deaf person who “hears” with cochlear implants and speaks incredibly well. We need to promote more representative views of the deaf community.

People, especially television networks, must realize it is the 21st century. Many amazing technologies, like cochlear implants, have been invented to help deaf people “hear”. While many choose to sign, others do not.

The fact is: all deaf people have different views and ideas about how to live their lives as deaf individuals. And that’s great. Some choose to sign. Some choose to speak. Some choose to remain in silence. Some choose to “hear”.

So why are those with cochlear implants, who live oral lifestyles, continually underrepresented in television medium? Is it because we aren’t “deaf” enough? Because we don’t portray the generic deaf “view”? Because we can ironically hear?

When I see Marlee Matlin tweeting to her followers that not every deaf person is silent or mute, I think, Are you kidding me? Emmett doesn’t speak. Melody barely speaks. You star on a show that gives the idea that deaf people are silent.

As sad as it is, I can understand why some hearing people may innocently refer to the deaf as “mute”. Why? Because many shows/films portray deaf people in that way! Let’s be clear though, I’m not saying that if someone communicates through ASL, they’re mute. I’m simply pointing out that if filmmakers expand their horizons and put more speaking deaf actors on television, especially those with cochlear implants or even hearing aids who have don’t know ASL, then people would be less inclined to generalize the deaf as “mute” or “silent”.

While I have complete respect for those who choose to sign, we cannot keep promoting JUST the ASL deaf community. I completely understand that people come from all different walks of life, grow up differently, encounter different obstacles, and view life differently. But, can we at least offer the chance for those with cochlear implants to be represented in an accurate way too? I mean, don’t forget, we can hear, but we are still deaf.

Marlee Matlin’s tweet seems to have sparked the hashtag #deaftalent. I did some investigating, and discovered that many deaf actors/musicians/filmmakers, of most whom communicate through ASL, are trying to get more TV networks to portray real, actual deaf actors. I agree with them, but the deaf actors shouldn’t be limited to those who don’t speak.

Would you support something that misrepresented or under-represented you?

As a future filmmaker, I aspire to achieve many things. But specifically, I hope to create stories that open, expand, and challenge peoples’ views about different communities, including the deaf community.

-Alanna

22 thoughts on “Hidden in Television: A Marginalized Portrayal of Deafness on Switched at Birth

  1. Taking this from Twitter over here – blogs are great for long-winded people like me! 🙂 Oh, and I am hearing, btw, but I have been involved in deaf and signing communities for many years, currently here in Argentina. First, I was taken aback, especially by this phrase: “The show depicts a ridiculously mind-boggling one-sided view of the deaf world.” I would say that it shows one part of the deaf world, but not ridiculously one-sided. It shows deaf people who only sign, or do both, like Daphne, or HoH people like Noah. I would say that Daphne shows the “two worlds”-view, as an oral deaf person.

    Secondly, I would say that Switched at Birth is one of the few mainstream venues that show a mostly signing deaf community. It seems everywhere else, on TV, youtube, newspapers etc., there are SO many stories about CI and the “miracle of sound.” When I say that I work with deaf kids, or that I know sign language, I get the “But why don’t they just get CI, then they can hear perfectly!” I have to explain a lot about how it is not for everyone, it requires a lot of speech therapy, etc. Here in Argentina, there are quite a few kids who get implanted but no follow up, for instance. (Sort of the worst of both worlds – families don’t learn to sign, kids get implanted but little services. So you will see some kids with CI but no language, neither spoken nor signed.) Your point on twitter, however, was excellent – that they only show that one moment, not the rest, not that it is not like glasses (many hearing people compare CI and glasses and think that everyone should get CI because they would get glasses to correct their vision.)

    Third: A mainstreamed, CI using deaf person who hears well and has great speech would not make for the most interesting character on the show. Not a great reason, but could have been something they have taken into account. Just speculation, though!

    Fourth: Maybe the show doesn’t want to get into the debate? There is some talk about CI in the beginning, when the family suggests Daphne get one, but that’s about it I think. Also, to some people, the “we can hear, but we are still deaf” seems really complicated! To many hearing people, it is either-or.

    Personally, I love that there is a TV series that shows a mostly signing deaf community in a positive way but also showcasing some of the debates around signing, oralism, CI etc. I feel that it is one of the few depictions of deaf community that does not show deaf people as “oh poor them” or less-than, but at the same time showing struggles like that of Daphne who feels she is somehow wrong when she is not happy about being deaf.

    I can see that you don’t feel represented in the show and it was really interesting to read your perspective. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was born profoundly deaf……fortunate enough to speak and sign…grew up speaking…. was a late implant @ 8 years old…chose to learn Sign Language in High School. Now I travel …public speaking when I can…..Believe in yourself….be proud of who you are…the best way to educate others is with kindness, understanding and acceptance.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am deaf/hard-of-hearing myself, and I have met people deafer than I am that could speak just as well as I do. There are a lot of factors to be considered before you generalize: Speech therapy for hours a day, often backed up at home and practiced constantly; Training yourself to compensate for the inability to hear, which is different for everyone; Choosing how to interact with the public. I like to think I do rather well with my hearing aids, or without, but it comes from a lot of practice and necessity. Yes, I sign, too.

    If you look at my audiogram, you will see that I could very well get a hybrid cochlear implant for the profound part of my hearing loss. You will also see that I do well with speech, but that is because I practice and use my skills daily. It is different for every person, and depends upon the environment in which that person has been raised and what is available. No one should assume every case is the same. As for a cochlear implant, I may qualify for one someday or even now, but I just don’t know if I would want my skull cut open to put in an electronic device. It’s scary to me, but I have friends getting it done, so I am observing their experiences to factor in my future decision. There is a lot of post-operative training to train yourself and your brain after that, just like the speech therapy and hearing aid training.

    So, don’t generalize, and also realize that in the case of “Switched at Birth,” they have made an effort to.make sure that actual deaf people play deaf characters, but also, there is a lot of controversy in the deaf community about cochlear implants and the actors on the show are against them, for the most part. The show is also more focused on entertainment, and is not there to get involved in “deaf politics,” but really just to show that deaf people have lives just like hearing people do.

    Like

  4. Several points I want to share to the writer and her friend of this blog.

    1) I do respect that some people with CI (who don’t use sign language or are not part of the Deaf community) fedel that they are not a part of that deaf culture, and speak.

    2) We do need to recognize that there are a variety of deaf people in the world. I’ve always been a supporter of that. I’ve also recognized that not all deaf people sign, therefore, I encourage our community to add captions to everything, both spoken and signed.

    3) Bear in mind that the ability to speak, read lips, or hear some is a privilege above those who don’t. Many people don’t realize that the ability to speak, read lips or try to listen with whatever hearing is a tremendously difficult ability to get the lower your hearing is. And plus there’s many other factors involved. There’s the situation of your personality, your brain, and what you were born with. Some people just simply can’t learn how to speak because of how their brain works. We need to be extra careful and sensitive to both sides of the issue.

    4) Switched at Birth may not represent the lifestyle of a CI character on the forefront of it, but they have included CI, in it, with Emmett’s father, in addition to the possibility of having Daphne Vasquez wearing one. In fact, there was a bizarro world episode where she became a CI user, and had the ability to speak perfectly.

    5) When we say #deaftalent, we are actually thinking about ALL #deaftalent — all types of deaf people in this universe. In Deaf Women in Film (which I am the founder of) I have a strict policy — only members of it can be female, identified as female, deaf, hard of hearing, CI, or any sign of hearing loss, and that all video content be captioned for access to all. It was not intentional for it to be ASL-only, although that happens frequently.

    6) I do hope that CI people can feel like they can be a part of #deaftalent because they, too, are deaf, in my view.

    7) I also ask that you can try to respect other areas of the deaf community and their perspectives. We are not intending to paint the d/Deaf people in a simple black & white light, because it is impossible. d/Deaf people are complex human beings who appear from many different facets of the Earth, and that is why we need to come together and tell our stories.

    I hope you understand that I am writing from a source of love and adoration for all d/Deaf people.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Bravo for speaking your mind. I agree with you about the lack of CI users in popular television and film. Whenever there is a deaf character, they usually always sign. The world needs to be educated that all deaf children can learn to listen and speak! We go to an OPTION school and it is amazing to hear all the kids chatter in the hallways. The difference between the deaf diagnosis now and 20 years ago is that technology has made huge leaps! Good luck to you in the future and keep your voice strong!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really enjoyed your blog. I agree but it’s more than just leaving the Switched at Birth audience with the impression that all deaf people know American Sign Language (ASL).

    The show gives a false notion that ASL can be mastered in just a few days…weeks. Besides, it’s just signed English, right? Wrong, ASL is not a derivative of English. In fact, ASL originated independently of English dialectal impact, and is its own language with its own set of rules.

    Next, all of the deaf characters on the show lip read. This reinforces the myth that everyone read lips AKA speech read. Although, the most skilled lip readers in English can only recognize an average of 30% of what is being said…the rest is fill in the blanks.

    Plus, nobody has mentioned anything about Katie LeClerc is playing a Deaf role. In fact, in the Feb. 3, 2014 Women’s Health magazine reads, “At this point, Katie’s hearing loss isn’t bad enough (or consistent enough) that she needs to wear hearing aids.” So, does this really qualify her as hard of hearing? Yet, in another article on The SOP.com (2011), Katie said, “I`m hard of hearing. Yes. One of the symptoms of Meniere`s Disease is the hearing fluctuates.”

    ABC Family hired a dialect coach to help her make it sound like a real deaf person. Wait, to make her sound like a real deaf person?

    To top it off, I recently read a hearing SAB fan’s justification for Katie to play the role. The individual wrote, “Katie Leclerc does such a great job portraying a deaf character, so it makes it more realistic for her to have an accent.”

    Again, Katie plays a Deaf character, not someone that is hard of hearing. So, there wasn’t one single Deaf actress that could have played Daphne? Plus, when was the last time she had a boyfriend that actually utilized ASL?

    As you can see, I have a lot of issues with Switched at Birth.

    Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Kris,

    I completely agree with you that “the best way to educate others is with kindness, understanding and acceptance”. I feel with more education, acceptance, and open-mindedness, we will really help unite the deaf community, so that we can be more supportive and appreciative of one another.

    -Alanna

    Like

  8. Hi Cindy,

    Thank you!! We definitely have to recognize that times have changed, and there are more opportunities for deaf people. We are entering a new era where many deaf have the opportunity to hear and speak,and we need to educate others, especially the hearing, that not all of us sign. There’s not universal or uniform lifestyle for the deaf person anymore. So yes, there absolutely needs to be more positive representation of CIs on television.

    -Alanna

    Like

  9. Hi Marla,

    Firstly, your skull does not get cut open during CI surgery. Surgeons place the CI magnet underneath the flap of skin behind your ear. CI surgery is nowhere near cutting your skull open.

    Also, I’m not generalizing. I’m simply asking for more positive CI representation on television and film. And you’re right, CI users have to go through speech therapy to learn how to identify/understand sounds. Speech therapy can definitely be frustrating at times, but the benefits FAR outweigh the bouts of frustrations. Don’t forget, those who sign must have to learn how to sign right? Just like CI users have to learn to identify sounds, ASL users have to learn sign and navigate a world where the majority hears and speaks. I’m not generalizing the issue here. We all have our struggles, and ups and downs. But that does not mean CI users should not be represented in television and film. We are just like you, simply deaf.

    Additionally, if the actors on the show are against CIs, and are preventing CIs from being portrayed on television in a positive, that’s selfish. They’re contributing to the rift and disunity of the deaf community. In absolute genuineness, I truly believe the show would be even more popular and well-liked if they included/represented the diversity of the deaf community on their show.

    Lastly, thank you for your comments!

    -Alanna

    Like

  10. Hi Alanna:

    I’ve been following your response to #deaftalent and Switched at Birth for awhile now, and I have really mixed feelings. However, despite how I feel in regards to your response and view of the Deaf Community, I do fully support your right to have your own opinions and beliefs based on the world you grew up in. Thank you for sharing that!

    A quick backstory – I am a hearing CODA and was raised by Deaf parents. I am currently in school to be an interpreter, big dreams to be a high-quality interpreter, and have a very strong opinion on how the world has treated Deaf people – in the past and in present day. Things have improved for the Deaf people, but there is still a great deal of oppression going on. I can’t help but see it all – I spent my whole life watching it take shape. One thing that I’m really not getting from you through the opinions you have been so freely sharing lately is a real respect or even complete understanding of Deaf History. (I’m not saying you don’t have the right to have your opinion on CI’s and what they do today, I’m just saying that in regards to the universal Deaf Community, you have not taken the time to study the oppression that has been going on for YEARS. You don’t show much compassion for this, it seems. You haven’t experienced it, so I get it. You don’t seem to have the connection to the community to learn about this – but then again, we’re strangers and I don’t *know* you, so please correct me if I’m wrong here.) To put it bluntly: you have got to understand that when you jump so quickly in support of the victorious doctors who have given you hearing, you enable so much more of the hearing agenda to “fix” and “heal” deafness. There is a serious fear that the culture, the sign language, and the community will one day be wiped away just because there are artificial technologies that can give artificial hearing. In the world today, you really can’t celebrate CI’s without reminding the world that deafness is “fixable”. That idea of being fixed causes so much pain. That idea that having a deaf child is something that should immediately be “taken care of” causes so much pain. There are so many hearing parents that don’t get the chance to meet the Deaf community before they make this life-altering decision of giving their infant a CI. This is not ever going to go away.

    I love my Deaf community. I love the heritage my parents have and I love how they have contributed to this world as a Deaf person. Yes, we are such a diverse minority with so many unique members, some that sign and some that don’t, but we have to be careful in how we let hearing people (like myself) view deafness. I’ve had the privilege of being so close to Deaf people all my life, and the opportunity to take some really insightful classes in college so far on the history of the Deaf Community – I realize that I have had that education and so many other people have not. That’s why I really care about this, I want others to understand. Cochlear implants will always be controversial – please don’t fall under the false illusion that they are not. They carry painful weight with them when you talk about them, no matter where you fall on the hearing spectrum. So please, take the time to study the complete Deaf History. Learn about the times when progression in sign language was banned and d/Deaf people were time and time again told what to do by “superior” hearing people. Take the time to realize that the hearing you boast about may make many feel inadequate, may make opportunities for the Deaf harder because “why shouldn’t everyone get a cochlear?”, further Audism and honestly – give the rest of the world a way to dismiss what being Deaf really is all about. I’m really happy that you are fighting for your CI representation on TV, because yes – you so totally deserve that as much as the rest of us! But I just really want you to understand that your argument won’t be as strong as it could be, had you had the understanding of where your identity truly comes from and what your cultural ancestors have faced.

    Being a CODA has made me very protective of the community my parents come from. I’ve seen time and time again, ignorant hearing people take advantage of the fact that I am this “unofficial” bridge between them and my parents. I watched oppression just my entire life, and despite even my identity as a hearing person who is fluent in sign, even that is not enough to stop it. The world does not serve d/Deaf people well. CI’s are a very delicate subject, and I know you know why that is in terms of your worldview, but do you truly understand it from the Deaf worldview? If you continue to speak out the way you currently are about your deafness and how CI’s should be represented, your opinion will continue to be shot down so easily. Please take the time to let the reality of Deaf history really set the foundation for how you will continue to speak out on your place in the community and how you interact with those that may even be upset just at the identity you claim. You are very much so part of us, but when you only cling to your identity from your surgery, you make it really difficult and painful for Deaf people to support you, when what you have has threatened them for so long and still is just looming over the preservation and future of their beautiful and intricate culture.

    I hope this makes sense. Feel free to email me if you want to chat more! I’m definitely sure there are plenty of things that I could learn from you, as well.

    All the best.
    -Rachel

    Like

  11. I agree with you , as we’re watching Switched at Birth with my girls , my oldest daughter asked me why is CI portrayed so negative in the show mom? Why do they make it seem as its a bad thing? In the Alternate world Daphne has a cochlear implant , she continuously says she’s not deaf, they make it seem like a miracle cure, she’s a rude mean teenager. My daughter was angry at the portrayal of Daphne with a CI. Emmets stepmother is considered this crazy drug user with a cochlear implant. At the end I didn’t know what to respond to my girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hello Alanna! Stumbled onto your blog when doing research for writing a deaf character in my novel. Your blog is just — I don’t know how to put it in words, but your voice is just so vibrant and I’ve learned so, so much. There is such a diversity within the deaf community and I just wanted to say thank you for showing me your side 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hi Alanna,

    I think your blog is very close-minded. I apologize ahead of time, because many of your comments are upsetting to me. As a parent to a deaf child we are faced with a choice. The parental choice to implant you is what paved your path in life. A path that immersed you into a hearing world with hearing culture. To each their own, and you sound very happy in your life. The problem is, Switched at Birth is not about about the hearing culture. It features a life in regards to the capital “D” Deaf Community and their culture. The show is based on Daphne, a Deaf girl who was never implanted and goes to a high school that uses Sign Language to communicate. This show is not about an implanted, deaf girl that goes to an all oral school, or is mainstreamed. You should not take offense in its portrayal of Deaf people, as you have essentially chosen to live as a hearing person. Now, this is not to say that you have not worked your tail off to get there, with endless speech therapy, or that when you take off your CI at night you are not completely deaf, but you have never embraced the Deaf community or ASL. So, I do not feel as though you should be offended that you are not being represented in this circumstance. You have been immersed in the hearing world, and every other show on television shares the hearing world’s perspective.

    There is also the completely opposite point of view, where some children/people with CI’s have not been as successful with them as you have. Maybe they’re not deaf enough to be a candidate for a CI, but are severe enough for it to impact every, single aspect of their lives? Maybe their CI didn’t work when they were implanted? Maybe they had issues with it and had to have multiple surgeries? Maybe they had so many issues that they decided not to use the CI at all? When people see someone with a CI or hearing aids, they just assume they will be able to understand them when they are talking. They also expect them to be able to speak back to them without any issues. When people see my son’s hearing aids, they just assume that he can hear and understand what they are saying to him. As you must know, hearing and understanding are two totally different things, and it takes a lot of hard work to master those skills. They also assume that he will be able to respond. As, I am sure you have had extensive speech therapy, you must realize the work required there, as well. There are a lot of assumptions that go both ways, and it makes me sad that a young, smart, deaf individual as yourself cannot see the other side of things. You come off ignorant and elitist, you should be happy that you have been so successful in your journey as a deaf person in the hearing world, because very few have been so lucky. You should not be offended that there is an emphasis of the Deaf world and Deaf culture on a television show meant to showcase just that. If you had never been implanted with a CI, the Deaf community most likely would have been your community. Also, not every profoundly deaf or hard of hearing person is eligible for a CI. I think you need to brush up on your Deaf/deaf and hard of hearing history, medical issues, and culture before you share such a narrow point of view.

    As an implanted, deaf person that does not sign, living in a hearing a world, your input on Deaf Culture should remain limited. You and your family made a choice to not embrace Deaf culture, and that is absolutely your choice, but you shouldn’t be offended by the people that have. You choose to live as a hearing person, and I for one, think that is a personal choice, and it clearly has made you very happy, but don’t ever be offended by the people that choose to live their lives as Deaf people.They have choices, too. Their choice are just different than yours. Diversity is beautiful, ignorance is not.

    Also, it is extremely ignorant to speak of how times have changed and that there are all these possibilities for deaf people to hear and speak without issue. This is completely false, as the options are not as black and white as you seem to make them. You speak as if being Deaf is a thing of the past and eventually deafness will no longer exist. How can you imply such a thing? I hope that with age, and time, your mind will open and you will see how offensive some of your statements are. Also, you are not representative of the Deaf community, you are representative of a deaf, CI user in the hearing community. You do not sign, you communicate verbally, and you preach Audism, there is nothing capital “D” Deaf about that. You have to realize that this show is opening the world of Deaf culture into a world that knows very little about it. I hope, for your sake and many others, they do include a happily functioning CI user on the show. I just hope he/she is more open-minded than you seem to be.

    “Audism is the notion that one is superior based on one’s ability to hear or to behave in the manner of one who hears, or that life without hearing is futile and miserable, or an attitude based on pathological thinking which results in a negative stigma toward anyone who does not hear.”

    “Some people are too severely deaf to benefit from conventional hearing aids; a cochlear implant may be a suitable alternative but only for a proportion of them.”

    Like

  14. Hi Laura,

    Firstly, you should know that my post was about asking for more positive CI representation on ‘Switched at Birth’. I fully understand the diverse culture of the deaf community, and only want that to be represented on the show. Secondly, when I refer to “times have changed”, I mean that the community has only gotten bigger and more diverse with the advent of technology (i.e. cochlear implants and hearing aids). I don’t think you fully understand the diversity of the deaf community. From you comments, I’m getting the sense that you have a very limited view of the deaf community, and do not fully realize how unrepresented other deaf individuals are. The general population does not know or understand what CIs are, and Switched At Birth only positively promotes the generic view that every deaf person signs, which is completely untrue in today’s modern world.

    I fully respect your choice to immerse your son in the Deaf community, that is 100% your choice and a personal one. I also realize that not many people are able to become candidates for CIs, and therefore, must rely on signing or some other form of communication.

    I really do not appreciate you labelling me as elitist or ignorant when you have clearly missed the whole point of the article. I have every right to promote the technology that helps me today, just like you have every right to promote ASL and the Deaf community that helps and supports your son. It’s also very funny that you don’t realize that your very comments are actually offensive to me and the rest of us who have CIs and wish (and deserve) to be represented on TV.

    Also, great quotes! Although the first one doesn’t apply to me (:

    Have a nice night!

    Like

  15. Hi Rose,

    Thank you for reaching out! Unfortunately, not many people are aware of Cochlear Implants, or just how diverse the deaf community is. I would tell your daughter that she’s very fortunate to be able to have CIs, and that not many people are aware of its existence. It’s up to her and other CI-users (myself, included) to educate others and enlighten them about diversity in deafness. If she’s very honest and open about her deafness, she will have the power to influence and teach so many people!

    Best,
    Alanna

    Like

  16. I like all your comments guys. I’m a hearing fan of SAB and i love to watch the show. I love all the cast. I will always support all tih deaf and hard of hearing all my life and that’s true. Love to read what you have said and love all the deaf with all my heart.. And I’m from India and our country surely need a deaf community. ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

